Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Trees underway

Got a good start on the second round of tree making - this time for the Sn3 layout.  So far have made 40 armatures.  This is my tree work area.  The board in the foreground holds the raw tree armatures, after being cut away from the machine.  I make two at a time - about 10" tall.  The tree machine is just above the trees.  I have loaded the wire and inserted the rope fibers.  Just after the photo, I spun up the wire with the handle at the end and after 60 spins we have two S scale White Fur armatures.  

Once I get the 75 trees made that the board holds, I will trim each with scissors to a "tree shape" like the white fir tree.  Then the trimmed tree is put into a dowel and into another board to await sawdust trunk detailing, paint, and flocking.  

If you are interested the McKenzie Brothers make the tree machine and can supply you with everything you need.  And even finished trees in any scale if that is want you want.  Good guys and excellent trees.  Mine will not be as good for sure.

http://www.mckenziebrotherstimberco.com

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.