Tour Grande

I really hoped we'd get chance to enjoy this day together and thankfully, it came off.

And what a day!

Being here in spring, I think, has really made it. Today, the variety of landscapes has been truly amazing with green plains, meadows full of wild flowers, towering hills, vast cliffs and dramatic aqua seas with white horses crashing onto black volcanic rock. Not to mention the idyllic white towns; Haria in particular was astonishingly beautiful. I never thought I'd call Lanzarote beautiful, I was expecting stunning and dramatic but even 'pretty' fitted the bill!

We've done a circuit north, up to Mirador del Rio and dropped down to Orzola before heading back along some stunning coastline.

It's been almost 70 miles and my legs have felt pretty good. Rich too, although he thinks he's lost some stamina since his flu episode (works in my favour apart from doing some of the leg work into the wind!) It's been breezy but we had a lucky break with today being less so than the last couple, picking up again for the way home but, by then, it was generally on our side.


I was doing really well until we were approaching San Bartolomé on the way home. I realised I was feeling light-headed. I wasn't hungry or thirsty so it was probably low blood pressure. Every time I hit a hill, I'd feel a little wobbly but my legs were on good form. We stopped a couple of times so I could stick my head between my knees and made the last few miles home. 


Just enough time for three quarters of an hour in the jacuzzi before dinner. And boy, have we eaten!

We'd already had breakfast, two lunches and seven bars. I wasn't too keen on half board but this is probably the first day in a lifetime where I've made the most of an all you can eat buffet! 

Time to chill out now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.