White stuff

Clear soup
Rice and cauliflower
Rice and marrow
Rice and melon with plenty of salt

Four courses. That's what I fancied. No dessert, no sauces, nothing colourful. 

While you're playing around in all my snow, I'm eating an all you can eat white stuff dinner.  

I think I've had a minerals crisis!

I knew I was low on something yesterday on our big ride; Rich seemed fitter than me today despite finding the day before tougher. And I've been permanently hungry. We've drunk plenty but, with the wind, you don't notice yourself sweating at all. We've had electrolyte tabs in all our drinks but I don't think it's been enough for my little system.

I thought I was going to be ill tonight but, after downing soup (which I'd not fancied until tonight) and starting to nibble at my second course, I realised I was hungry and in need of salt, carbs and more salt. So I ate more of the same with vague variations and felt better and better.

So now, with my feet up  after dinner (as per every night) and a concentrated electrolyte drink, I think I'm feeling like I should - legs jaded but not zombiefied.

Oh, and today's ride has been a cracker! 

We went up to the national park again and cycled the road we did the other day in the rain. Just amazing! Long sweeps of tarmac, lava fields, craters and all in blue sky and fluffy clouds!

Sunbathing and jacuzzi to finish of course, as well as lots of stretching and rollering.

I didn't think I'd be cycling again earlier but, despite tired legs, I'd now  like to go back up and see La Geria again tomorrow. It'll be a shortened ride compared to the first time we did it but stunning and perfect for the last day and tired legs.  

I can't tell you how much better I feel.  Fingers crossed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.