Loafing

It's a new cycling term. I'll explain...

With a joyous revelation this morning, I headed back to the room in the middle of breakfast to fetch slices of the gluten free bread I'd discovered and bought yesterday for lunch on the plane. 

TOAST!

I'm sick of eating oat sawdust for breakfast and the smell of toast as I investigated the hot breakfasts was simply divine.

After four slices, I headed back to the room for another four. I ate them all! With lashings of butter and jam. 

Being close to the airport and an afternoon flight, we've enjoyed a bit of sun and a stroll before our flight home.  My ears hurt in the wind; it's so strong today. We really have been exceptionally lucky.

I have now almost finished the rest of the loaf with olive oil and slices of Spanish cheese (that's on top of my melon and chips at the airport and well before dinner!)

With about an hour before landing, we've recounted our cycling days with satisfaction and are looking forward to picking up Little Dog. Always a good reason to go home.


Loaf v.
eat elevated quantities of food hungrily or quickly following substantial exercise that has depleted natural human reserves.

Origin: Yorkshire Millennium English: legend has it a twiglet of a Yorkshire lass devoured a complete loaf of bread within an eight hour period on top of regular meals after an exhausting week of cycling the corners of Lanzarote. 
"She spent the day loafing."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.