Camper Day!!!

Today was the day!!!! Finally!
We picked up our campervan, woohoo!!!
My mum and dad kindly drove us up to get it so Mr K and I could drive home together in it. I think they wanted to meet the Bongo Man too!!
After drop off I had a lovely couple of hours at Mrs A's house with Mrs K and Mrs J. They made me eat Danish pastries!!!!
Then it was home to jump into my dad's car and set off to deepest Worcestershire.
I felt sick by the time we got there - we saw the van for a few minutes in November. In the middle of a field with no interior apart from the front seats. What if it was a heap of junk? What if the conversion was shoddy? What if we hadn't got anything we asked for but nasty red units, purple upholstery and a neon pink floor? What if the payment wouldn't go through in the back end of nowhere and we had to go home without it?
Even last night he was asking us to pay before we got there. Mr K was polite but firm: not in your nelly were we paying for it before we saw it!!
We needn't have worried. It's ace!!!!!!!
We walked into the garage and there she was - all shiny and fabulous. We got everything we asked for and it looks great. I particularly love my parquet floor!!
We had a forty minute debrief - most of which went over my head. Hopefully Mr K and my dad were listening!
Mr K sorted the tax and paid the balance. Thankfully it went through OK!
They just needed to finish off the roof panels (because they've only had since November - insert crying laughing emoji!! - so we went to the pub across the road for lunch. It was delicious! I had the nicest burger I can remember having for ages. I even had a celebratory shandy!!
Then it was time to head back for our keys and our first journey. To the petrol station!
Then we hit the road. Apart from constantly turning the windscreen wipers on rather than the indicator Mr K did very well. 
We couldn't get the smiles off our faces!!!
We're so rubbish at the small stuff in our lives - laundry, cleaning, homework, DIY - but we're pretty good at the big stuff - getting a dog, getting a campervan; making memories!
Rather than driving straight home we went up to Burton Dassett Hills which we love and seemed a very campervanny place to go!
Mr K masterfully avoided the sheep (see extras) and we parked the top and enjoyed the view with our first cup of tea in the camper.
From a flask which I'd made up especially as there's no gas yet. A trip to Go Outdoors I think at the weekend! 
The cups are from the set which my mum bought us for Christmas. I love them!!
I could have sat up there all day but soon it was time to head off so we could get to the Little Misses in time. We hadn't told them we were picking up the camper today so it was a surprise.
We went to Miss E's school first and when I went in I told her we had a surprise. She started pogo-sticking up and down and squealing when she saw it! The best reaction imaginable!!! She kept saying "I love it I love it I love it!!!!!!!!" over and over as she got in. It was fabulous!
Then we went to Miss L's school. We're meant to be there by 6pm and didn't get there until 6.05pm. Oops!!
Miss L was sat in reception with one of her teachers looking a bit sorry for herself. I told her we were late because we had a surprise. 
She  was equally giddy to see the campervan and there was much excitement on the drive home. 
It made me so happy to see them. Happy days ahead!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.