We Like Driving in Our Van!!

I'm forty-four today!! 
I have no problem with getting older but I can't quite believe the number!! When I hear on the news that someone is forty-four it still seems miles away and nothing to do with me!!
Unless, of course, someone dies at forty-four with two young children. Then it seems horrifically young.
Anyway! Happy Birthday to me!!!
The day got off to its usual lovely start. Shuffling and whispering and then a rendition of Happy Birthday as the lovely Little Misses and Mr K came in with flowers, gifts and tea!
I had been getting a bit anxious as it was getting later and later and I really needed to get up!
A giant Aldi candle (number 1, my favourite!), Lindt chocolates and peanut M&Ms from the Little Misses.
And a shiny new phone from Mr K. Yay. 
Then there was a hideous and less than celebratory rush to get ready for school and work. It's been about twenty years since I worked on my birthday - pre children I always took the day off!
Once I got home from work I spent the afternoon on the sofa eating Lindt truffles until I felt sick, watching Grey's Anatomy and betting on the Cheltenham races. No wins unfortunately but a pretty good way to spend the afternoon.
The Little Misses ate their dinner in the Bongo tonight (which we're calling The Bongo even though it isn't a Bongo until we think of a better name!!). They were giddy to be out in it!
Annoyingly I was feeling sick and headachy and generally bluuuughhhhh. And by the time Mr K got home I just wanted to lie down! So we didn't get the big dinner we'd planned (Tesco's Finest dine in, get us!!) Mr K made me some of his marvellous medicinal bananas on toast with honey (the food of the Gods!!) and we finally watched the first episode of McMafia before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.