JohnMcCannLearn

By StillLearning

A Working Dog

A splendid man called Jake delivered a supply of logs today. Jake's service falls short of stacking the logs though I am sure that could be included at an the right price. I am sure the right price for Jake would reflect the time consuming nature of the task.

Such a pile of logs is a happy sight. It must have something to do with a basic instinct for shelter and warmth; the pile suggests we'll be OK for a few months. It is also daunting because there are a lot of logs to be shifted.

I thought I would enlist the help of Coorie the Cocker Spaniel. After all, she is a working dog. I outlined the task and provided a demonstration. Coorie seemed interested. When she returned to the pile she had a good sniff. Clearly Coorie was being selective about the next log. She decided on one buried at the bottom of the pile. I explained that removal of that particular log might have the undesirable consequence of other logs falling on top of her. I also explained that, in any case, that that particular log would be difficult to remove.

I suggested there were other ways in which she could be helpful but she was fixated on one. I carried on without her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.