London landing

Arrival at London City Airport, which was a first. Unfortunately not the first time bags have not made an appearance, being caught in transit in Amsterdam. They'll arrive at some point I hope.

Another first: first time the customer service of a bloke at the luggage helpdesk has been so appalling that those of us filling in claim forms have been obliged to rally against his unpleasantness. It was a satisfying bit of collective customer protest. Although it didn't magic up the bags.

I tried to have a low key day, unpacking a reduced number of bags and marvelling at the delightful state in which Leigh has left my flat after her stint here. Perfectly arranged coathangers, a pleasant aroma filling the hallway and shirts graded by colour in the wardrobe. As well as the stark realisation that I have far too many shirts. I'll have five fewer if my Liberia baggage never shows up.

I made headway with my second passport renewal as my passports get full swiftly and I was caught out on a recent trip to Kenya when I had no free pages and the official had to stamp on top of a previous visa. Which could have been dicey if they'd have chosen to get aggro.

While getting passport photos, a very loud Italian woman customer was speaking to the Iraqi shop manager about his a recent trip to Baghdad during which he received threats on his life, and someone in the story was cheated out of 300,000 US dollars. I don't think it was him as he might not be working at Snappy Snaps with that amount of cash in reserve. It was a dramatic excerpt to listen to, and he didn't seem to care that all and sundry could hear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.