Um bom paso

Work was intense as we have a proposal deadline on Monday. I had a Portuguese lesson late afternoon and for the first time, Ilidio and I chatted about random stuff (cheese, Cambodia, family values) without turning to the textbooks for grammar exercises. Ilidio was pleased as he saw it as um bom paso (a good step) towards being able to hold decent conversations and to graduate from sentences such as ‘the girl has five apples’ or ‘you eat fish’.

I then went to an early evening meeting with a donor who later this year is likely to fund work in the Chimanimani landscape. When he invited me to dinner, it felt strategic, so I was happy to eat ravioli and chat about our experiences in different parts of Africa.

I was then late to meet up with friends for some much needed relaxation time. Virgílio was there, and conversations are always fascinating, especially about his passionate views on protecting the environment. He acquired British citizenship after going there to study, and remains an Anglophile after working there for many years. It was useful to hear some pro-UK views given the wave of chaotic political news. Virgílio worked with Angolan immigrants in Rochdale, which happens to be the town where I was born.

We talked a little about how towns like Rochdale have changed. Virgílio said, ‘I remember in England to get one pastel de nata, I used to have to get buses. Now you’re getting them in Rochdale.’

Good to know Rochdale residents can get those little parcels of pastry, cream and custard perfection.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.