Shay Given

Well, it has been a sportyish day. I decided to rejoin the gym this morning, so I headed off at 9am. It was all done and dusted and I was on the cross trainer before half past nine. It was lovely to bump into a few people I knew from when I was a member about.....gosh it must be about four years ago at least. I had a good swim and then sat in the steam room. 

I love the conversations you hear in the steam room....it was really hot and visibility was limited. There were two men and one was talking about a woman that he paid each day to sort his food out whilst on holiday. One day she brought him some really tasty meat, "What is this?" he asked her. Apparently, it was 'field meat'. He asked what animal that was. He had thought it was the best meat he'd eaten until he was told it was...rat! 

Yesterday I had an appointment at the hospital and they are really pleased with my progress and at last I can drive again...yay! I feel I am getting my life back again now. I went along to Media City and met up with Sian for a cuppa and a good old chat. 

I walked round Media City as they had events on for Sport Relief. The Irish goal keeper, Shay Given was taking penalty shots so I took a few pics before I needed to rest. I had to ask if he was 'someone I should know'. Apparently, he played for Ireland and Manchester City at some point and according to the official I quizzed, he was a really nice guy and had been taking penalty shots all day.

I called at Pat's on the way home....because I could, because I was mobile and not relying on anyone else...and we had a cuppa. 

Today is the first time in nearly six weeks that I have had my camera out with me...I had forgotten how heavy it is, but it was good to have it in my hands again. I'm going along to the Chocolate Festival in Ramsbottom tomorrow so it will be two days running...yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.