Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

The art of decluttering

Here at Talpa Towers we are drowning in stuff collected over the years, indeed over the generations, and really should declutter. The trouble is that we like our stuff and can't bring ourselves to do the necessary.
This gaudy Chinese/Japanese pot is a case in point. It dates from about 1900 and was aimed at the mass market of the time. It used to belong to an elderly and impoverished widow (I called her Aunt Maggie) who lived next door to us when I was a young tyke. The vase was her pride and joy and when she died it was passed on to me. How could I possibly get rid of it after all these years?

The "extra", a contact print,  might well be the worst photograph ever posted on Blipland. It shows Aunt Maggie sitting in her Windsor chair. It was one of the very first photographs that I took, sometime around 1955, using my newly acquired Kodak Brownie 127 loaded with Ilford film.
You can see our problem, we rarely throw anything away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.