Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Nutty

So nice to have the day to ourselves and be able to get out again, despite the dull weather. However, it was quite mild, almost no wind and it didn't rain, so we can't complain too much! 

In the morning we went to Risley Moss. We've not been here for over a year and not since the observation tower was burnt down by some mindless vandals last autumn I think. Some people just make you so mad. 
The woodland hide was quiet and sheltered and we were treated to both male and female woodpeckers showing well, the usual garden type birds and this nuthatch. S/he was annoyingly skittish and it took me quite a while to get a half decent shot. It would come down to the bird table(which is covered in mesh to stop the squirrels), but stop off on a branch just prior, so this was where I pointed my camera. But every time I had it pointed there, it would come down to the open table and snaffle some nuts. So then I pointed my camera on the open table, and guess what? Yup, it would be back on it's branch. 
It was by pure luck that I managed to catch it on the feeder as I was busy photographing the LTTs when it made a rare appearance over there. 
Since I am trying this year to blip as many different birds as possible, the nuthatch makes it onto todays main. 

After lunch we went to Spike Island for an hour in search of kestrels and kingfishers, but we were definitely out of luck. I think there are just too many people about at the weekend and too many dogs and children - maybe another day in the week. 
We did see 4 oystercatchers on the muddy river banks, so at least it was not a wasted visit. 

Tomorrow is looking better weather wise, so maybe another trip out is on the cards before going round to my parents' for a meal in the evening. 

Hoping your day was a good one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.