Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Costa Canal

Edinburgh was positively balmy today!  Not just sunny, but warm and (relatively) windless.

I had a day to myself - TM went home last night to supervise the felling of a tree. It came down without damaging the house, the tree-man or TM, I'm happy to say.

My route into town took me along the tow-path of the Union Canal.

Much activity. Familes, joggers, dog-walkers, cyclists, rowers, a hen-party afloat in a narrow-boat.

I took the picture near the end of the canal, and I haven't altered the colour - it really was this blue! 

In my school-days we used this route to get back to town from our playing fields.  The water was thick, dark and oily under a scum of bilious green, and at the spot above we would pinch our noses and speed up, the fumes from the rubber works were - well, very rubbery.  I used to be scared of falling in, and with good reason.

Nowadays. people let their dogs drink it! (Extra)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.