horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

A Failure in Common Sense

I'd passed this way a couple of days before, and there was something of a bottleneck. Works are required, obviously, but there was something a bit haphazard, and a lack of thought for how busy this particular shared pedestrian and cycling crossing really is.

The day after someone I know tweeted a picture of the little ramp up the kerb, with the temporary lights placed directly behind it, rendering the ramp useless. Anyone with a wheelchair, or pushchair, or inform, is basically unable to use the crossing. And it's more awkward on a bike as well. They moved the lights, tweeted the council, got a response that it would be looked into and....

The next morning I found the exact same situation. I mean, common sense? Put a ramp in, and put something right behind it that means the ramp can't be used? Just.... why? So I moved it again.

I actually checked my video footage from Wednesday, and turns out then that the ramp not only had the temporary lights placed behind it, but there was a cone placed directly in front. Just nuts.

And this isn't just an abstract complaint. I've got a friend who is in a wheelchair, who lives a hundred yards from this very crossing, and would be scuppered entirely.

Beggars belief really....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.