Listening

Today was the launch of the Central Auckland Poets, and their Chapbook. S and four of her fellow students who recently graduated with  a Masters of Creative writing, have been meeting fortnightly since the start of last year. They have formed a tight and very mutually supportive group which has resulted in lots of positives. Today they released a collection of a number of poems by each of them, and read from the poems in the Chapbook, which goes by the title "Poetry in the Garden". In the garden of one of the group.

She is pictured here sitting next to G whose garden we enjoyed. In the extras I have shown her reading as the alternate voice for one of her colleagues, and reading from the Chapbook, one of her own poems. As always, I am impressed by how she adapts her voice and her tone, and even the style of reading to the content.

S and G are listening to a new member of their group, who joined too late to be part of the publication (self published), and who the read at the end of the 'official' readings. 

Following her reading, there was an "open mic" session. Quite impulsively (unusual for me) I decided to read from where it is as a January blip on my iPad, my un named fridge poem. I flippantly suggested afterwards that I could call it "Warm fridge poem", and received a positive response from G. An interesting experience for me to read something like that to others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.