Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

Day of Shame

From the time I was a very little girl my Mum and Dad encouraged me to get involved in sport. I started going to tennis coaching when I was seven and played in my first tennis tournament at the age of 9. It’s fair to say that I’m a sporting tragic and have loved to take part in and also watch a whole host of sports throughout my lifetime. Today has been one of great sadness for me. I woke to the news that the Australian cricket captain Steve Smith was admitting that he and other members of the Australian team had in fact conspired to cheat in the current test match against South Africa. They cheated by tampering with the cricket ball and in so doing hoping that they could make the ball swing to the extent that it would help them dismiss the opposing team.

The response from the Australian public has been one of outrage. Personally I feel betrayed and so so sad. I’m not just sad for myself but for the thousands and thousands of Australians who are proud of how well we perform as a nation. We often punch well above our weight and have a very impressive record in many sports at a world class level.

Steve Smith in his press conference this morning expressed the view that he felt he was still the person to lead the team. That might be his opinion but I don’t think you would find another Australian who would agree with him. It’s a day of great shame and thankfully I have just heard the news that both the captain Steve Smith and Vice Captain David Warner have been stood down from their positions. I’m hoping this will be permanent.

Wearing the “Baggy Green Cap” for Australia has been one of the highest honours bestowed on an Australian sportsman. The wonderful ritual of seeing a young cricketer being presented with his “Baggy Green” by one of the games living cricket legends at the start of their first test match has been one my favourite moments in sport. It seems inconceivable to me that through one reckless but calculated act that honour is now in tatters.

How cricket will move on from this in Australia is beyond me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.