tomhutts

By tomhutts

Sun

The sun finally showed face again. It was only 10 degrees, but it was better than the -4 we’d been having all week.
I slept until noon (the clocks went forward so I don’t feel too awful about that). The night before hadn’t really taken a toll on me, despite the amount of beer I’d drank. I’m getting into the habit of drinking as much water as humanly possible before bed, and it seems to be doing the trick.
I had arranged to meet Ruben and Tona to go bouldering again. My body had only just recovered from our previous session (literally, it was three days of dead muscles. I couldn’t put my backpack on without assistance) so I was going to take it easier today.
Tona couldn’t make it out of bed so it was just Ruben and I. We tried out a new gym today, this was the view from outside. People had brought deck chairs and were sitting by the water drinking beer. It was very tranquil.
I tackled a few tough climbs, but it was still just beginner stuff. I have a long way to go before I can climb like Ruben. About two hours in my arms gave up on me, so we called it a day.
A few nights previously I had drunkenly invited everyone around to my flat where I would cook dinner. So tonight was that night. It was only 5 of us so nothing too crazy, we ate in my room (the living room). I made mushroom and spinach risotto and it seemed to go down quite well. We then went to get ice cream from a place just around the corner. I got a taster thing, where I could chose 6 different flavours and get a small scoop of each. Lara had a lime, coriander, and chill sorbet. I won’t list all of my flavours, but one of them was baked sweet potato (very bizarre but oddly tasty)
We parted ways. Lara and I headed back to the flat. It was a nice relaxing night and a lovely conclusion to an action packed weekend.
I start university tomorrow. Nervous yet excited. I want to get stuck in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.