Rite of Passage

Dunedin Hospital at 2 am. My sister was transferred there a couple of days before from Invercargill, where she lived.

My son and I drove down on Saturday and arrived while my sister was still conscious and lucid enough to recognise us. I was so grateful for those precious hours spent with her and her loving children. She passed away before midnight, but we lingered. She was my only sibling, and almost ten years younger than me.

My student granddaughter and her flatmates generously gave us beds for the night, though they are all studying hard for their final exams.

Neither of us have been to Dunedin before and there was no time for sightseeing. The hospital room was on the seventh floor. I found it strange to look out over an intact city, with tall buildings, old buildings, and no levelled wasteland or demolition sites.

We were both very tired and took our time driving home, stopping often. I took some photos, but this one of the fountain seems more appropriate than ones I took on the road. Yesterday's image was based on an accidental exposure made when I fumbled getting my camera out of the bag.

Thank you so much for all your messages of condolence. They are greatly appreciated. My Blip mojo has faded for the present. I hope to get back into it before too long.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.