Hiking Down the Vapour Trail

There was a narrow gap between the clouds and the mountains. I had to be vigilant. When the moon appeared I dashed about to find the best spot. I dragged the step ladder to it and climbed as high as I dared.  Then I watched, spellbound, as the moon slowly slipped down the edge of the vapour trail to the mountain.

This image has been slightly tweaked to lighten it a little, and no more. There was nothing I could do about the atmospheric fuzz, which is a common phenomenon.

The snow clad mountains are part of the Craigieburn Range, and the dark one is the southern end of the Torlesse Range.

Other moon set shots.

A rugged nor'wester again today. Not as bad as the recent gales, but it snapped the aluminium pole I use as a laundry prop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.