MONO MONDAY - WORDS

WORD - noun - a unit of language, consisting of one or more spoken sounds or their written representation, that functions as a principal carrier of meaning.  Words are usually separated by spaces in writing, and are distinguished phonologically, as by accent, in many languages.

Thought I should be getting back into the various challenges and today’s Mono Monday challenge is “Words”.  I puzzled about this for a while, but then remembered that amongst the mountain of post that was awaiting our return, was an envelope from a very dear lady named Hedy, who lives in Switzerland and who is over 90 years of age, containing a beautifully written letter.

There was only one problem - although I could understand the words on the envelope - and thankfully, the postman had understood them too - I could not understand the words written by her inside because they were written in Swiss German - and my language study at school, many years ago, had only included French!

Once again, I was thankful for Google Translate and was able to make some sense of the words on the page.

I did know that the words at the beginning meant “My Dear” and because of the beautiful rose that Hedy had stuck onto the page, I realised that it was a sort of “Thank you” letter and after translation, was able to understand most of it although some words eluded me - perhaps there is someone out there who could help?

Mr. HCB and I went to Switzerland to stay with Hedy’s daughter and her husband back in 2012 after meeting them and their son and daughter-in-law when we used to visit Boscombe, and we spent many happy hours with Hedy, playing games - often for which no words are needed - and I have written to Hedy many times - making sure, because she speaks no English, that I translated what I wanted to say using Google Translate.  I always hoped that the translation was true - because one never knows!

I loved the end of the letter where it translated as:

“I hope you both sing healthy and well
All the best from the snow.”

I think I need to find someone who speaks the language and who can translate it properly but I understand that for Hedy, all my cards and letters were a “surprise and joy” so I will keep on sending them to her.

I often say that emails are wonderful and they are quick, but nothing compares with the joy of picking up a letter from the mat, dropped through the letterbox by the postman, and opening it to see what’s inside - especially if the envelope is handwritten.  As I was writing this, a beautiful Easter card came through the letterbox from a fellow blipper, so thank you GG!  

“Words mean more 
     than what is set down on paper. 
          It takes the human voice to infuse them 
               with shades of deeper meaning.” 
Maya Angelou : I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

P.S.  How wonderful that Admirer has translated the whole letter for me - thank you SO MUCH - this is what it says:

My dear
Thank you for all the letters you did send me. A big surprise and joy to hear from you.  There is much snow in Switserland and especially in the mountains.
But now spring will cdome soon and that means a much warmer sun.
Next autumn I will reach my 94th birthday. But I am still doing well. I can do so many things still by myself.
I hope you are all healthy and well.
With much love from Switzerland.

Hedy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.