Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Eeyore!

I've always had a soft spot in my heart for donkeys, especially, cute, little pudgy ones like these guys. I have vivid memories of riding a donkey for the first time when I was about four years old, its bristly gray hairs scratching against my legs, rocking back and forth and back and forth.

Today, I was returning from the post office when I spotted these fellows, peacefully grazing in the field. "It's Eeyore!", I cried to myself.

After living in these rural parts, I've grown fond of such pastoral scenes and how soothing they feel, how they help me daydream, and how they always manage to make me smile.

"The old grey donkey, Eeyore stood by himself in a thistly corner of the Forest, his front feet well apart, his head on one side, and thought about things. Sometimes he thought sadly to himself, "Why?" and sometimes he thought, "Wherefore?" and sometimes he thought, "Inasmuch as which?" and sometimes he didn't quite know what he was thinking about."

~ A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.