Baa

It's been another super day for early Spring. Buds are breaking, the birds are busy establishing their territories, and lambs are being born.

After returning Gill's DVD of The Winter's Tale performed by the Royal Ballet, Baz and I made our way to Jamie's Farm at Burton on the Wolds where his family are collaborating to house new lambs and their Mums. At most they're a week old and several of the ewes have still to go into labour.

The baby lambs are as mischievous as the young piglets at Oakley Grange Farm. They wriggle out of any enclosure, but they don't stray too far from the ewes. I asked Marie about how long they looked after the lambs before they were sent away. She looked slightly furtive and surprised that I should ask whereas I supposed she thought I'd just come to oooh-aw over them. There's so much self-righteous, (and ill-informed) indignation from the vegan community, that it's hardly surprising.

She said that they are developing their own flock of ewes, some of whom have now produced their sixth 'crop.'

Baz and I then drove to East Leake where Baz was able to run around in the park. We finished up at Bryers where I had a plate of delicious Stilton and Black Farmer cheese and crackers before returning home.

Haven't done so much today but feel exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.