Twisted Firestarter

Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day. Set a man on fire and he's warm for the rest of his life.
Terry Pratchett

There's something deeply enticing about the flames of a bonfire. I hugely miss the woodburner, and mancave V2 may well address that, but it's fire caged and tamed.
A proper fire, a creature that builds and roars, is a thing of beauty. I like the process, the building, the crafting. Petrol is for amateurs. I like to see the flames take hold, to dry out the wood, to become.
I quite like the smoke too. A perfectly dry fire is ever so slightly disappointing. The swirling, the suggestions, the ethereal sense of what might be. It's all really rather elemental.

I like a good fire.
In a different life I think I was a dragon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.