But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

A Rose is a Rose . . . . .

. . . . is a Rose.

Regular readers will be aware that I am a tinkerer by inclination; thus it was, having a perfectly good indoor rose purchased in the interests of Blipfoto, it received its second airing – this time through an infrared filter. Actually, at 560 nm it’s not strictly IR but covers the red end of the visible spectrum as well so, while the red is the real colour of the flower, the green of the foliage is purely the result of my deranged imagination. I’ve seen some really stunning pictures of such subjects as brightly coloured pagodas produced this way.
 
There were a few challenges to overcome; the wide spectrum of the light, particularly outside the design criteria for the lens, causes atrocious colour aberrations. This means that it is difficult to focus at full aperture, I ended up sticking a focussing target in amongst the petals, and you need a small aperture to maintain a useful depth of focus. Conversely, this lens has an IR hotspot that needs to be controlled with a wide aperture; the physics involved is beyond my comprehension. The compromise camera setting I used gave enough leeway to fudge both the sharpness of the flower and the brightness of the hotspot. It was a delicate operation.
 
Now, I wonder if there are any pagodas lying around.
 
I’ve just posted yesterday’s, “Oxgangs Roof-Tops.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.