Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

A Viking Disease

I hope this doesn't gross anyone out..... :-) it's just a recording...

The first I ever heard of this was last April after I broke my wrist and the hand surgeon told me that what I thought was just a previously broken (dislocated?) little finger was really called “Dupuytren’s Disease”.   More common in caucasians with Northern European ancestry, it’s a thickening of a naturally occurring collagen fiber (fascia) under the skin so that the finger(s) curls up and won’t straighten.    For Outlander fans, (!) Clair treated this disease with surgery in the North Carolina Colony in 1774 (in book #6) way before it was identified and named for a French surgeon in 1831.Now there is a drug that can be injected to soften the collagen cord so the fingers can be straightened.

Well I thought I’d just live with it, period, and really thought it was related to the injury from 10 years ago or so, but it did get worse and was getting most annoying, so I had H take some “before” pictures today .. "You are NOT going to blip that,  are you?" he says, but I am... I tried to get the least ugly and weird looking one.  :-)  before getting the injection today and then the straightening tomorrow.   (showing how nice and straight my “new” wrist is, but the little finger that will always be a bit crooked.)   Hope it works!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.