Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The Corner

A nearby corner in my neighborhood.  There are some regulars who like sitting on that bench..I'm always checking to see who it is when I walk by.   At least he's using his phone to actually CALL someone, like phones were meant for at one time...  The lime bikes are parked all over the city for anyone who downloads the app to use.   
Had a very fine day today in my studio working on several things including Mexico photos, now that I've digested more  (will post on my other journal when I get a cohesive group of 7).  Prompted by the silver jewelry, I've been reading a lot about the industry  in Taxco in the 30s and 40s and how it started as a way to put some money in the hands of the people instead of shipping all that silver ore out of the country.  And it was the beginning of the folk art revival ..I do wish I could talk to my aunt that lived there ...I have lots of questions about the pieces I've dug out of my drawer some of which have the stamp of William Spratling, the American who developed the first silversmith shop there.   More research is needed, which is all vastly interesting ..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.