Livingandloving

By Livingandloving

Forecasting

After school, work, and swim, we grabbed a quick fast food dinner, and headed to the High School for 8th grade orientation night.  Hard to believe that we are already planning for next school year.   I also can't believe my Sugar Bear will be in 8th grade.  This is going by too quickly.  

The orientation was interesting, and we are in the middle of planning time.  It made me a bit anxious about helping Sugar make good choices to set her up for success in High School.  It feels like more stress than necessary.  It is easy to get caught up in the whirlwind of wanting your child to get all the BEST classes, and pathways for a bright future...however, there are times when I wonder why we are pushing our kids to accomplish so much before the age of 18.  Does my child really NEED to graduate High School with enough college credits to have an AA degree as well?  What happened to having FUN while your are in High School.  I had to do a bit of reality checking....and reminding myself that it isn't a race............It's a journey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.