Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Sight Less Seen

It was an unusual sound to hear.  The skirl of the pipes carried on the breeze.  Given the dreich conditions, with a persistent rain carrying in along Bull Street, it transported me north of the border.  I went in search of the source, recognising the lament of 'Flower of Scotland' as I got closer.  At least I thought that was what was being played, I can only assume the piper's fingers were seizing up in the cold conditions.

I must admit I was looking for a kilt, so it wasn't until I was closer that I spotted this gentleman.  He was still struggling to hold a tune.  Other pedestrians were hurrying by, I assume to limit their exposure to the noise.  I decided to apply my acoustic qualification and knowledge, reducing my noise exposure by taking photographs from a distance and moving away as quickly as possible!

Ok, Ok, I know Blipfoto's heritage and I would not want to demean anything Scottish. I hope you'll realise my prose is very much tongue in cheek. We'd spent a relaxed day with some retail therapy in Birmingham, using the local train to travel in and out of the city.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.