Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bootham

I traveled up to York after work for my first visit to Bootham Crescent. York City were hosting Southport; two former Football League clubs fallen on harder times. Both were relegated from the National League last season (although, as I witnessed, York did win the FA Trophy at Wembley) but are doing respectably this year in National League North.

The ground has a reputation for being at the more basic end, particularly if you're an away fan, where your terrace is open to the elements along with your urinals. I elected for the home comforts of the Popular Stand, opposite the main stand (pictured). Part of the motivation for this visit was that a new stadium is being built and next season should be the last for this famous old ground, so I thought I should experience it while I can.

It was an entertaining game in a lively atmosphere of 2000+ fans. The Minstermen were 2-0 up at half-time and looking comfortable but the Sandgrounders grew into the game in the second half as City sat back. 2-0 became 2-1 and then 2-2 with ten mintes of the game remaining. It could have gone either way, but York found a decisive touch just before the end to take the game 3-2.

As a small milestone I should note that this was my 50th ground visited, a long way behind some of you on here (mentioning no names @kwchas) but a respectable figure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.