Plus ça change...

By SooB

Joining

Up early today, despite the tooth-interrupted sleep*, and - full of vim and vigour - I bounded up to the workroom and made some furniture.  This magnificently constructed** piece has transformed our living room from a caged-off obstacle course, to an elegant entertainment suite***. 

Then spring cleaning commenced.  It happening this week is obviously prompted by having some pals to stay this weekend (and a happily lighter workload than of late), but it's been coming for a while. Since November, which is pretty much the last time I remember doing any housework beyond the strictly necessary.  So, taking advantage of the lack of rain, windows were cleaned that have not had the benefit of human touch for a number of years equivalent to appendages on a human hand.  And mattresses were hauled outside for a damn good dose of sunshine and air.  And I reassured myself again that our ladder, though it may look broken, still complies with the laws of physics and is unlikely to catapult me out of any windows (ladders and heights not being entirely my thing).

Later, some work - but very little.  And then a frustrating shopping trip when I realised I'd left my wallet and list at home.  And then less frustrating shopping when, wallet in hand, some plants followed me to the car.

The day was motoring along in a kind of fine way, really, and then the BBC took it into their pretty little heads to email me about the countdown to Brexit.  One Year To Go.

Yeah, cheers.

Still, Suits is turning out to be exactly the kind of escapist nonsense that all the gazillions of folk who said I would like it were talking about.  And, with the new DVD shelving installed, it was so easy to find it...

* Ok, I know, and I'm totally going to get the x-ray the dentist told me to get and go back and see her REALLY soon.  Like, next week.

** Some exaggeration may have crept in here.  It's a shelving unit for the dvd player, but it took like two hours to make, so obviously it's not art... It's some wood, some glue and some screws.

*** That exaggeration thing?  Tripled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.