Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

One step forward, two steps backwards...

Gym✔️

I have been going to the gym just about every day since before Christmas - more than three months. But I don’t really notice any improvement in the knees - they STILL don’t feel like they belong to me. Most depressing. I mentioned to one of the gym instructors, and he pointed out that going forwards on the cross trainer doesn’t really strengthen my hamstrings - I have to go backwards. Aaaargggh!

Of course, I know this is true, and I used to do a few minutes backwards in my routine, but then quietly dropped that extremely painful part, and soon conveniently forgot about it. Soooo, I’ll have to get back to that and add in the legwork equipment too. My twenty minute routine isn’t really making much difference. So it's all a bit depressing... however, a Chocolate Orange cheered me up this afternoon.

Anne came to take Archie out this morning. She hasn’t been for ages, but got the full Archie welcome. We caught up with her news when she came back and stayed for a cuppa.

I lit the fire and had a lazy day at home. I watched a couple of episodes of my favourite programme about the chaps looking round old sheds and finding all sorts of ancient motorbikes, cars, tractors, and even just old metal signs. It's strangely pleasant viewing.

Archie was tired after his day out, and had a rest on Daisy the cow.

I meant to add this funny shot as an Extra yesterday, taken just before the sensible pose. They were looking at a van which disgorged about six big dogs in the car park. Archie just couldn’t resist yapping. Rufus was more restrained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.