Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chocolate!

Gym✔️✔️

Yes! A double dose of cross trainer! I did backwards every two minutes. Nearly killed me, which is good. I think. I had half a banana before I went. If Roger Federer can have a bite of a banana and win a grand slam, it must do something for me!

JR had a long lie in, with breakfast in bed. This was because the plan was to go to the Commonwealth (Commie) Pool later to check out the gym, because Archie was off for the day with Elizabeth. It has been a dreich day, but Elizabeth is not put off by a bit of drizzle.

We drove there - free parking, and we were there for more than two hours. It was great fun! Honestly. The cross trainers are much better than our wee gym, with huge screens for TV or the walks through the Sierra Nevada. Also, there was a great view out of the huge windows on to the busy road. I did another 20 minutes, with 12 of them backwards.

I also did a few arm and leg exercises on lovely equipment. When I got tired, I went through to the seats to look down on the pools area. What a fantastic facility! Four pools, jam packed, it being Saturday. One of the pools had big bouncy castle type things, with kids (and adults) trying to go round the whole circuit, but usually falling in or slipping off. What fun! I could be tempted to get back into swimming...

Back home, fire on, listening to 'Any Questions' and 'Any Answers' on iPlayer Radio, then an old playlist, till Archie and Elizabeth came home. They had a very long walk, most of it muddy, but he came home as clean as a whistle.

Elizabeth came bearing gifts - Easter Eggs for everyone, including a special doggie one for Archie! But he can’t nibble it till tomorrow, Easter Sunday. Though I will probably nibble mine tonight.

Archie has a VERY exciting event tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.