Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Arthur's Seat?

It's behind you, Archie.

Haircut for Archie this morning, then we set off across the Meadows, heading to 56 North for a leisurely beer. He always looks so silvery and glossy in the sun when his hair is newly shorn.

We needed some material for a little sewing job JR is going to do, so we walked through to the material shop. JR and Archie walked back through the Meadows, but I got the bus home - I get really tired and don't actually like being out walking too much. My knees are still stiff and painful and I plod along as if I'm 20 stone.

I filled in a six month follow up questionnaire from the hospital that I must have agreed to at the time of my operation - although it's only five months post-op.

It asked things like (on a scale of 1-10)
How difficult is it to kneel down and get up?
How difficult is it to get in and out of a car?
How does your knee affect you playing your favourite sport?

Sport??

What sport do they think I should be doing six months after a Total Knee Replacement? I can barely walk!

My sport of choice is (was) badminton. I was quite chuffed to reach B Grade (briefly) in Auckland in the late 70s while in my prime. Those were the days...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.