Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

My reward

Well, it was an action-packed day, starting with my regular visit to get my blood checked, then on into town to the Apple Shop to swap my phone for the new, better specc-ed, rose gold, SE version. I was there at 9.30, and they'd already sold 7. By the time I left after setting it up, the place was mobbed!

Meanwhile, Camila had come to collect Archie for the day. She goes away for a month, so he we will miss her!

We took advantage of the Archie-free day to go to IKEA. Haven't been there for a very long time. I have found that my tolerance time limit is somewhat reduced... I do like looking at their stuff, there's just so much of it! However, I was fortified with a fish and chip lunch and coffee, and rewarded at the end with my usual TWO ice creams (they are quite small). Came home laden with things we hadn't realised we needed. Including a new chair for the desk, now that we don't sit at the computer any more.

We took a drive round to the school we both taught in, which Edinburgh City Council, in their wisdom, closed (and razed to the ground within days) a few years ago (along with several others). Now there are hundreds of new houses in the area, and where the school was is just a waste land - unsuitable for housing. But perfect for, say, a school...

However, we spotted a couple of ex-cleaners walking home from the shops, so we stopped to have a chinwag.

Just added the old computer chair and spare duvets on Gumtree Freebies and they've been snapped up. The local charity shop wouldn't take duvets.

JR has gone out looking for herbs for a new window box for the back window. Archie is not back from his day out yet, and I'm fondling my new (rose gold) phone and munching on some wee Easter eggs. What a day of treats!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.