Some more geek time

Off from work for four days. I slept in and when I came downstairs I found the girls had started a "let me just be lazy and relax" day. I decided to join them and work on a game written in Scratch. It's a space invaders game and I used an example from the internet as the basis, but added sound effects. However, my aim was to also add light effects using the led strip extension to Scratch I wrote last week.

It all works very well and now whenever you fire at the aliens with your green laser gun, the leds will flash bright green. When the aliens are getting closer, the leds will start flashing in red in an ever faster pace depending on how close they're getting. It's not completely done but once it is I think it will be a nice demo showing what can be done with the led strip extension.

If this all doesn't make any sense to you, don't worry. Scratch is a computer programming language aimed at children and it works visually by clicking code blocks together to form a program. If you're interested, just take a look at the Scratch website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.