Older but not wiser?

That maybe applies to both of us! Today Mr Rat ran his first ultra race ( the John Muir Way Ultra, 31 miles from Port Seaton to Dunbar) and I ran my longest run ever (16 miles) in the 1st leg of a 2 leg relay in the race.
The one thing I didn't want was a E or NE wind as that was the direction of travel and guess what - that's what we had, about 20mph I believe. For many sections there was little shelter and it was only behind us for about 1/2 mile but I made it to the changeover in about the time I hoped for. We also had showers and a max temp of 3-4C. (Pity we didn't get yesterday evening's weather when we had our stroll through Musselburgh).
The 2nd leg runner had less wind but a bit more hill and a lot more run but made it to the end with several teams behind her. (I suspect we were the oldest team, our combines ages are 123).
Mr Rat had to cope with everything but was still at about his target time so we are both pleased, tired and achy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.