Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Solitude

Today was a bittersweet day for me as I was sad about a friend's death yesterday but remember all the times he made me laugh and his wonderful joy and love for those in his life.   

 He loved people and was one of those  kind of guys that we know as a good man.  He never called me by my name..just "Midget"..because I was short!      His nickname was  "Hardrock" but he had the softest heart.  Even though he was  a person that I met through my work life over 30 years ago,  he and his wife are more like extended family than friends.   His children and grandchildren are like nieces and nephews.   

He loved being outdoors... hunting and fishing or just sitting around at a campground in the woods.    We talked hiking, hunting and where to catch the best trout along the river.  He like a little glass of Jack Daniels in the evening.   We complained at work about situations that we just had to deal with but then we laughed about it.   We laughed so much!   

I went to see him a couple of weeks ago as he was home after a few days in the hospital... living on borrowed time.    He told me that he had a wonderful life and was not afraid of what was coming.  But he also said he was not going to sleep in that hospital bed they brought to the house.."people died in that bed! " and he was having none of that.    He and I both said I love you when I got ready to leave.   We just said "see you later."   I cried after I left.    Hoped to see him another time but it was not to be. 

We have a huge work "family" and people have been texting me and emailing and posting their sorry on Facebook.  This man gave love and was loved.  We all are so heartbroken.  

As I walked alone in the woods today enjoying some solitude,  I could feel his gift to me.  Live your best life, love unconditionally and make the most  with what life gives you.   

I will try my best to do this.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.