Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Concert dress rehearsal

Blipping very late pm; post concert adrenaline still rushing round (not shattered like usual) so there's no point in going to bed yet.

I think it went OK; I am aware of my own personal glitches (finally cracked (most of) the German this morning) and I'm satisfied I did my best. You can never tell from the choir what it actually sounded like.

J S Bach is probably my favourite composer (as a very lapsed organist I've enormous respect and love of his works) and to sing this resurrected piece (St Mark's Passion) is a little wonderful and a also a little regretful; because he was so prolific it's easy to forget that many works have been lost, of which this was one. What we sang was a best guess by scholars of what a known piece may have been. So ephemeral and yet it seemed so solid. And so Bach.

LH, LD and LF supported. Fair's fair; I do rugby league, he does concerts - and lovely to see the others with him. Looking forward to a relaxing day with my lovelies tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.