Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Vellela vellela

First time I've ever seen one of these beautiful blue beings with clear, erect sails. They're actually diminutive colonies of plankton-eating sea creatures with stinging tentacles, about an inch high and an inch and a half wide. Sue tells me sometimes there are "blue tides" when colonies of them wash up on Oregon beaches. There's a helpful video about them here. I only saw two this weekend. It was cold and windy, and the vast sandy beaches, as you can see in this photo, were empty of people as far as the eye could see. Sue spotted a whale spout. I never did see one.

It was pleasant being unplugged from the news for a while. I will never catch up with journals. I'm posting on Sunday, and we have another Sue's-family event today, so I'll post another back-blip later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.