a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Don't fence me in

"Oh, give me land, lots of land under starry skies above
Don't fence me in
Let me ride through the wide open country that I love
Don't fence me in


Let me be by myself in the evenin' breeze
And listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees
Send me off forever but I ask you please
Don't fence me in


Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
Underneath the western skies
On my cayuse, let me wander over yonder
Till I see the mountains rise"

Cole Porter ~ Don't fence me in

Cathy and I have spent our Easter Sunday enjoying the hospitality of my sister Janet and her husband Mark (Incredibish), along with my Dad and his wife Mary.  Janet served up some lovely food, and I feel more than a little full now.  There were also some delightful wines and a glass of Armangac.  Bliss!

After lunch we went for a walk to try to ensure that there was at least a little room in our stomachs to do Janet's afternoon tea some justice.  Inevitably Mark and I took our cameras and proceeded to try to find a blip.  I actually thought that my shot of Mark taking this photo was rather better than my attempt to take the same photo just a few minutes before, so hopefully he will forgive me for featuring him today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.