But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

A Flock of Deer.

With today being the best weather for the last fortnight and forecast to be the best for the next fortnight, I set off on one of my old dog walks. Logan died nearly eight years ago and he was the last dog we had who was capable of such a walk so, unsurprisingly, the terrain has changed somewhat. The walk was to have been along the Esk to Polton Bank but, since the river bank has collapsed in places, and numerous large trees have fallen, the walk had to be curtailed. It was while trying to find a detour that I stumbled across this squadron of deer. They had their eyes on me all the time they were within sight but didn’t seem unduly bothered, though I did notice that started to run if I either, stopped walking, started walking, looked at them or stopped looking at them; it was obviously the changes that upset them The really odd thing was, that although they started running on several occasions, they didn’t actually get further away from me. I felt that if I had just steadily walked towards them, I could have got quite close.
 
I was quite pleased, as it’s unusual for me to stumble across a pack of deer on this sort of casual basis; normally, they see me first and slither off silently into the undergrowth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.