But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Something’s Gotta Give.

My policy when photographing moving things is to use continuous drive. While the quality of this image is not fantastic, and I wish that I’d dialled in a faster shutter speed to reduce the motion blur and camera shake, at least I have the image and am pleased with the result.
 
During the blizzard this afternoon (which accounts for the splodges), I noticed the return of our song thrush and grabbed the bridge camera. It always has the right lens in and the main dial selects the saved settings, I just hoped they were saved correctly. There was a series of nine shots, the first as the bird is pouncing; the timing was pure chance.
 
Some years ago, there was a famous photograph taken by a man on holiday; his small daughter insisted that he take a picture of a giraffe drinking from a river. As the fellow pressed the button, the giraffe stood up, and the resulting chance shot was of the giraffe standing upright with an enormous crocodile dangling from its snout. Unfortunately, I can’t find the picture on the interweb and I don't remember what the outcome was. Having recently seen the video of what a giraffe did to the lioness that killed its calf, I wouldn’t be placing any bets – but I do hope the photographer made a lot of money and shared it with his daughter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.