Spying On The Neighbours

After a long but uneventful flight, we landed back at Heathrow at about 2pm. Just a few minutes before landing we fly over my neighbourhood and my house (NOT pictured!) and just a couple of minutes after that we fly over my neighbour Lizzie’s house. She and the corgis didn’t seem to be out in the garden today! Well, it WAS pretty wet, so who can blame her?  They’re probably all busy with wedding plans anyway!  Or maybe she was doing what I do on a rainy day - desk time!

I got home and tried to nap but didn’t fall asleep. I showered and went to the Maundy Thursday service at church. For Christians this is the most important weekend in the church calendar, and I’m glad to be home all weekend for it. Maundy Thursday represents the day that the Jewish Passover was celebrated by Jesus and his disciples, also now known as ‘The Last Supper’.  Maundy comes from Latin and is the word ‘command’. This is because Jesus commanded his followers to think of him when they ate bread and drank wine. He also spoke these words at the supper:

'And now I give you a new commandment: love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.' John 13:34

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.