Wild Turkey Action

I was so glad I had my camera handy on the front seat as I drove through the neighborhood at the Cape.  It was drizzling and cold, but the turkey population was hot to trot.  The males were strutting (extra) and pairs were mating.  I had never seen this before.  The male stands on the female first, for several minutes.  I was also surprised to see a (mostly) white female.  I placed her in extras as well.  If you look closely you can see a tom in the background.

I had driven back and forth down the same street several times trying to get shots out of the car window in the rain.  I guess one of the neighbors got suspicious so she came outside to check it out.  iIt ends up she's a turkey fan as well.  She mentioned that she isn't well-liked by some neighbors because she feeds these birds.  Sure enough, I saw another neighbor as I drove toward home, and all he could do is complain about those darn turkeys.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.