2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

if we were together on Calgary shore

Here's a very favourite excerpt from Sorley MacLean's famous "Poems to Emihir" (section XLII), as taken from the pictured 2011 Collected Poems ...

... the verse ranges over time and nature; giving such powerful voice to feelings of longing, love and beauty.

Undoubtedly, one of the most powerful love poems that I know:


Shores

If we were in Talisker on the shore
where the great white mouth
opens between two hard jaws,
Rubha nan Clach and the Bioda Ruadh,
I would stand beside the sea
renewing love in my spirit
while the ocean was filling
Talisker bay forever:
I would stand there on the bareness of the shore
until Prishal bowed his stallion head.

And if we were together
on Calgary shore in Mull,
between Scotland and Tiree,
between the world and eternity,
I would stay there till doom
measuring sand, grain by grain,
and in Uist, on the shore of Homhsta
in presence of that wide solitude,
I would wait there forever
for the sea draining drop by drop.

And if I were on the shore of Moidart
with you, for whom my care is new,
I would put up in a synthesis of love for you
the ocean and the sand, drop and grain.
And if we were on Mol Stenscholl Staffin
when the unhappy surging sea dragged
the boulders and threw them over us,
I would build the rampart wall
against an alien eternity grinding (its teeth).

---

Sorley Maclean (1911 – 1996)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.