April Snow

It was a storm system that blew in quickly, and left just as fast. We went to bed with drizzly rain and woke up with another 3 to 6 inches of snow. The snow came down thick and wet and heavy, and it coated every branch and twig.

The chief thing to know about late March and April snows is that they just don't last. That glorious twig-coating effect usually only sticks around for a few hours, so you'd best get out early if you want pictures. (And take an umbrella - you'll know why when all that snow begins to fall on your head!)

So I did just that. The snow had just stopped falling around the time that we got up. So I grabbed my camera and umbrella, and wandered around the neighborhood for half an hour, trying to get as many pictures as possible. 

I took this picture of the weeping willow tree in our next-door neighbor's front yard. The tree is huge, and the snow clung to every bit of it. There's a shot in the extras of the rest of their snowy yard and the woods between us. (Welcome to Narnia!) By afternoon, most of the snow had melted. Glad I got out when I did!

Everybody seemed sort of shocked by an April snowstorm, but the truth is that in central PA, we occasionally get snow even into the earliest part of May. So I was not at all surprised. Delighted a little, yes! The soundtrack is Radiohead, with No Surprises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.