Simple Gifts: Tree in the Misty Rain

You may think this is a line drawing I made. However, I will be the first to admit I am no great artist: this image is actually a photo of a tree. It stands in a golden farm field behind an adorable little Methodist church, on a back road I often drive on to get to work.

I've stopped and photographed the tree several times now, from the church parking lot. It looks especially nice with its limbs bare - a winter tree. Also when it's standing in the mist and/or rain, which is exactly what the conditions were on this morning. (Oh the joys of spring, with its liquid sunshine!)

There is a peacefulness to this scene that stills me, and calms my mind. How could anything be wrong, in a world where such beauties exist? So on this morning, I am thankful for these simple gifts: a peaceful moment, the rising mist, and a tree standing like a work of art atop a farm field in the rain.

Above all, I wish you peace.

The soundtrack is a favorite song I've used before on Blip: Jewel, with Simple Gifts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.