Ice Cream Flavors at the Creamery

And a treatise on living one's dream. . . .

It has been a crazy-weather time, in which we fit several seasons in one day. It began with rain, that was chased away by high winds, that were followed by sunshine, that was wiped away by blue-gray clouds, that brought snow squalls, that were followed by bright sunshine again. And imagine this: I had to be out in it!

I had a meeting downtown in the afternoon, and I had promised my husband I'd stop by the Creamery on campus afterwards, to bring home some milk, a pair of milkshakes (see flavor list above, YOU pick!), and some mushrooms, which often sell there for the ridiculously cheap price of $2 a pound!

The B.L.T. that I brought for lunch, I already ate for breakfast. And so somehow I got this idea in my head late in the morning (as my thoughts turned once again to food) that the only thing that could make my day complete would be to get some egg rolls downtown before my meeting, and eat them while sitting on the Wall below Old Main.

So I left a tiny bit early for my meeting, and I did exactly that. You should have seen me driving down College Avenue like a boss, blasting Neil Diamond, His 12 Greatest Hits, and cruising for egg rolls.Yeah, I'm just cool that way. (It all felt so familiar.)

I parked in a parking garage, walked over to Chopsticks Express, and bought 2 egg rolls for $3.18, with some packets of duck sauce thrown in for good measure. I went and sat on the Wall and ate them, and it was every bit as wonderful as I'd hoped. Yes, I believe in living my dreams. (I've put a picture of the egg rolls in the extras because getting them made me so happy.)

Then I had my meeting, and when I came out, the weather was atrocious! I'd already felt like Piglet trying to hold on and not to get blown away on a Winnie-the-Pooh blustery day. But now it was a blinding whiteout, with snow coming down sideways and from all directions at once! Yikes, I thought to myself, Was it supposed to do this?

But then the snow stopped and the sun came out! So I parked illegally in a service lot near the Berkey Creamery. (Yeah, I know: bad girl. But there really ought to be easy parking near the Creamery and there isn't. So sue me.) And rushed in and got my two milkshakes - chocolate for my husband and teaberry for me - and my milk and my mushrooms, and headed home.

I stopped and snapped a photo of the ice cream flavor list, as I almost always do. On summer days, the list is quite a bit longer. My favorite may be peppermint stick, which they only have around the holidays, much to my chagrin. Yes, I have even been known to eat ice cream for breakfast. Which flavor would YOU choose? Bonus: I'll put a link to the full flavor list here for the ice cream lovers to peruse.

And let's end with a philosophical reflection from this girl who had egg rolls AND a milkshake all in the same day. You know, there is nothing wrong with planning little delights in your day. The things that make you smile. The little things that you might spoil yourself with, like a special treat, enjoyed in a spot with a beautiful view.

Nobody needs to give you permission to enjoy yourself except YOU! And so my personal philosophy is this. Do the things you MUST do, of course. Fulfill your obligations. Do your job. Pay your bills. Take care of the things you have to. Do things that matter. Make a contribution. In other words, don't leap into a life of irresponsibility on my account.

But every chance you get, do what you WANT to do. Life is short; it's all over much too soon. Your feet only walk on this earth for a short while, and your whole lifetime will be just a tiny blip in time. So get the egg rolls and enjoy them with great gusto. Eat the ice cream for breakfast if you want, and drink the milkshake in your favorite flavor. Live your dream.  :-)

The soundtrack song is one that was blasting on my stereo as I drove down College Ave. It's from the Neil Diamond album I referenced above. The song is Done Too Soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.