Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

White-thoated Sparrow

One of our winter denizens. These guys will leave here at the beginning of May and head north to their breeding grounds - some of them well up into Canada. Typically they are still here when I leave for the New River Birding & Nature Festival (this year I'll drive over to West Virginia on April 29th) and gone when I get home (this year on May 6th). Our other major guest bird, the dark-eyed juncos that are here en masse all winter, will be leaving sooner than the white-throated sparrows. Not much sooner, but typically a bit sooner. Some time this month. I'll try to remember the last day I see one, but it's one of those things you often don't notice until you think "Oh - haven't seen one of those in a while..."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.