nonpcplod

By nonpcplod

Graffiti tribute to Stephen Hawking

Tom pointed me to this, a very talented graffiti artist had painted this tribute to Prof Stephen Hawking on the Mill Road Railway Bridge and it was quite widely reported... Today being Wednesday, we made the usual trip to Fulbourn for Margaret's volunteer job at the hospital, while I waited for her I thought I'd go and take a photo or two, Mill Road not being very far away.

I'm not a huge fan of graffiti, by and large the ex-policeman in me has it down as Criminal Damage, but this wall is very well used by graffitists and I guess well tolerated by Cambridge people, police and authorities.  What amazed me when I pitched up was there were a couple of these 'artists' busy with their spray tins already covering up this tribute - much to the dismay of me and a number of people who had come to see it. I took this photo of Mum and Son to give some scale to the portrait, I'll post it on the Cambridge sites hoping they see it...

Professor Stephen Hawking really was a man to be admired, a great mind and a huge will to overcome the afflictions that he would not allow to hold him back. But when I think of him I also think of the young people that I was privileged to meet through my work at The J's Hospice. Many of them with very similar conditions as him, with the same burning desire to make their mark but without the means to provide the technology he used so well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.